Court Ordered Interlock
As you may know, New Jersey DWI legislation has recently changed their policy with regard to ignition interlock laws. According to a new bill passed on January 14, 2010, Ricci’s Law now requires court ordered alcohol ignition interlock devices for many drivers who have been convicted of a New Jersey DWI. Previously it was at a judge’s discretion whether or not to require a court ordered alcohol ignition interlock system. The laws have become much stricter. Now court ordered alcohol ignition interlock devices are mandatory for many drivers who have had a New Jersey DWI.
Who will require a court ordered alcohol ignition interlock device?
According to the new ignition interlock laws, a court ordered alcohol ignition interlock device is now mandatory even for first-time offenders if their blood alcohol content (BAC) is above a certain level. A BAC of 0.15 percent or higher will require a court ordered alcohol ignition interlock device. Ignition interlock devices are also mandatory for ALL subsequent offenders. Anyone who has a second New Jersey DWI will require a mandatory car breathalyzer.
How long does a court ordered alcohol ignition interlock device need to be in use?
The latest New Jersey ignition interlock laws require a device to be installed during a license suspension. It must then remain active for anywhere from six months to a year following the return of a license for a first-time offender. For subsequent offenders, ignition interlock devices must be installed during a license suspension and for one to three years after a license restoration
How do I satisfy my sentence to get a court ordered alcohol ignition interlock device?
According to recent New Jersey DWI laws, people who require a court ordered alcohol ignition interlock device must have a car breathalyzer active in their primary vehicle during a license suspension. It is easier and more affordable than you may think to have an ignition interlock device installed! Smart Start of New Jersey offers convenient and inexpensive options that will help you satisfy your sentence right away. Our DWI interlock devices are in compliance with New Jersey ignition interlock laws. In fact, Smart Start car breathalyzers are approved by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission for court ordered alcohol ignition interlock devices. A New Jersey DWI does not mean that you need to lose your job or give up your active lifestyle!
At Smart Start of New Jersey, we will help you navigate the recent ignition interlock laws so that you can move on with your life as quickly as possible following a New Jersey DWI. You can reclaim your driving independence faster than you may think! Our state-of-the-art ignition interlock devices are as small as a cellular phone and they are so easy to use. Also, you do not need to worry about the price because we install for free and we offer reasonable monthly leases. You will never be charged for installation, even if you would like a device on more than one car. Requiring a court ordered alcohol ignition interlock device isn’t the end of the world. It’s the beginning of a new way of driving!
With locations all across the Tristate area, there is sure to be a Smart Start Service Center near you. Call (866) 384-3567 today! Our friendly representatives are available by phone or email 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Call us at your earliest convenience to make an installation appointment!