New Jersey Interlock Laws

NJSkyline560x218

New Jersey ignition interlock laws have recently changed and this may affect you! On January 14, 2010, the New Jersey State Legislature signed new legislation regarding DWI laws throughout the State. Sponsored by Senator Jim Whelan, the bill, entitled S-1926, or “Ricci’s Law,” is an amendment that toughens the standards for mandatory ignition interlock devices for people who have been driving while intoxicated.

Under the new DWI laws, it is now mandatory for certain DWI offenders in New Jersey to install ignition interlock devices in their primary vehicles. According to these new ignition interlock laws, car breathalyzers are now mandatory for first-time offenders whose blood alcohol content (BAC) is above 0.15 percent or higher. The device must be installed during a license suspension and must remain active for anywhere from six months to a year following the return of a license in a first-time offender. Ignition interlock devices are also mandatory for ALL subsequent offenders, regardless of their BAC or other circumstances. For subsequent offenders, ignition interlock devices must be installed during a license suspension and for one to three years after a license restoration.

The new DWI laws also state that anyone who refuses to take a breathalyzer test during an arrest must install an ignition interlock device. Additionally, New Jersey ignition interlock laws will penalize anyone who attempts to assist in circumventing an ignition interlock device. If a person other than the driver tries to blow into an ignition interlock device for a person who has a mandated car breathalyzer, the “helper” will be found to be a disorderly person.

In the past, it was left to the court’s discretion whether or not to require first-time offenders to install a car breathalyzer into their vehicles. Second-time or subsequent offenders were required to install an alcohol ignition interlock device for a period of one to three years once a license had been restored. The new laws have definitely lowered the standard for who will need car breathalyzers. Additionally, the new laws have increased the amount of time that an alcohol interlock system will need to be active in a driver’s car following a license suspension.

What do these new DWI laws mean for you? Now that there are tougher New Jersey ignition interlock laws, more people will find themselves in need of an ignition interlock device. Being convicted of a DWI can be an overwhelming and stressful experience, but using a car breathalyzer can help people make a fresh start. Finding the right device is important to help people get off on the right foot. Most people will want a device that is inexpensive to purchase and user-friendly to operate. At Smart Start of New Jersey, our affordable ignition interlock devices are state-of-the-art and so easy to use!

If you would like to learn more about ignition interlock devices, call Smart Start of New Jersey today. With the most locations of any car breathalyzer company in New Jersey, we have service centers all across the State.

Call (866) 384-3567 to speak to our friendly representatives. We are available to take your calls and to arrange a free installation 24 hours a day, seven days a week. Contact us at your convenience!

Request a Quote

captcha

Go Top